Brian Naylor http://wxpr.org en As Man Faces Off With Nature More Often, U.S. Agency Scrutinized http://wxpr.org/post/man-faces-nature-more-often-us-agency-scrutinized <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ju2e0InMus</p> Sun, 06 Apr 2014 17:36:00 +0000 Brian Naylor 16561 at http://wxpr.org A Rising GOP Star In Oklahoma Aims For The U.S. Senate http://wxpr.org/post/rising-gop-star-oklahoma-aims-us-senate The announcement by Republican Sen. Tom Coburn that he is resigning his seat at the end of the year has set up a spirited battle among Oklahoma Republicans to replace him.<p>Leading the pack are Rep. James Lankford and former state House Speaker T.W. Shannon. At age 36, Shannon is an up-and-coming star in the GOP, and if elected he would become the third African-American in the Senate — two of them Republicans.<p>On Saturday night, the Comanche County Republican Party held its annual barbecue. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:42:00 +0000 Brian Naylor 16298 at http://wxpr.org A Rising GOP Star In Oklahoma Aims For The U.S. Senate In Airliner Search, Countries Still Wonder What Parts To Play http://wxpr.org/post/airliner-search-countries-still-wonder-what-parts-play FBI investigators are now joining the hunt for missing Malaysia Airlines Flight 370. It's one more instance of increasingly closer international cooperation in the search — though confusion persists. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 20:31:00 +0000 Brian Naylor 15778 at http://wxpr.org Toyota, Justice Department Reach Settlement On Recall http://wxpr.org/post/toyota-justice-department-reach-settlement-recall The Justice Department announced Wednesday that it has reached a billion-dollar agreement with Toyota, settling a federal probe into the company's handling of a recall for faulty gas pedals. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 14:28:00 +0000 Brian Naylor 15756 at http://wxpr.org U.S. Checks For Stolen Passports, But Other Nations Fall Short http://wxpr.org/post/us-checks-stolen-passports-other-nations-fall-short One of the mysteries surrounding the disappearance of a Malaysia Airlines jetliner on a flight from Kuala Lumpur to Beijing is the appearance of two men on the flight manifest who were apparently traveling with stolen passports.<p>On U.S.-bound flights there are safeguards aimed at preventing that from happening. Interpol, the international police organization, issued a statement criticizing Malaysia for allowing the passengers to board the flight.<p>Since 9/11, Interpol has maintained a database of stolen passports containing more than 40 million entries, according to the agency. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 07:26:00 +0000 Brian Naylor 15371 at http://wxpr.org Behind The Curtain At The Clinton White House http://wxpr.org/post/behind-curtain-clinton-white-house Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block. The Clinton Library and the National Archives released some 4,000 documents today from the Clinton administration. Among other things, the papers the deal with the Clinton's defeated healthcare reforms and then First Lady Hillary Clinton's image. They're part of a trove of documents and the first of several batches to be made public. NPR's Brian Naylor has been going through them and he joins me now. Brian, welcome.<p>BRIAN NAYLOR, BYLINE: Hi, Melissa.<p>BLOCK: And why the release now? Fri, 28 Feb 2014 21:01:00 +0000 Brian Naylor 14990 at http://wxpr.org Feeling The Fiscal Squeeze, EPA Seeks To Slim Down http://wxpr.org/post/feeling-fiscal-squeeze-epa-seeks-slim-down Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>The Environmental Protection Agency has a lot on its plate, now add to that budget concerns. The agency is hoping to trim its staff. Like a number of other government agencies, the EPA is offering buyouts to employees.<p>As NPR's Brian Naylor reports, it's all part of a shrinking federal workforce.<p>BRIAN NAYLOR, BYLINE: The EPA has a pretty significant workload these days. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 21:20:00 +0000 Brian Naylor 14896 at http://wxpr.org Legislators Make A Field Trip To Investigate W.Va Spill http://wxpr.org/post/legislators-make-field-trip-investigate-wva-spill Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>Officials in Charleston, West Virginia, testified today that the water there is now suitable for drinking and bathing, but nobody seemed ready or willing to call it safe. The testimony came at a field hearing held by members of Congress one month after a chemical in spill in the Elk River tainted the water for some 300,000 people. Mon, 10 Feb 2014 22:51:00 +0000 Brian Naylor 14237 at http://wxpr.org Post Office Could Rack Up Billions By Offering Money Services http://wxpr.org/post/post-office-could-rack-billions-offering-money-services As the U.S. Postal Service continues to lose money each year, a new report suggests a way to add to its bottom line: offer banklike services, such as a check cashing card that would allow holders to make purchases and pay bills online or even take out small loans. Fri, 07 Feb 2014 08:25:00 +0000 Brian Naylor 14092 at http://wxpr.org Post Office Could Rack Up Billions By Offering Money Services Putting The Brake On Who Can See Your Car's Data Trail http://wxpr.org/post/putting-brake-who-can-see-your-cars-data-trail At the North American International Auto Show in Detroit this week, carmakers are happy to demonstrate the technology in their vehicles. A spokeswoman for Buick points out some of the safety features in the new Regal:<p>"Automatic crash preparation," she says. Wed, 22 Jan 2014 22:27:00 +0000 Brian Naylor 13434 at http://wxpr.org Putting The Brake On Who Can See Your Car's Data Trail