David Greene http://wxpr.org en Supreme Court Strikes Down Key Part Of Campaign Finance Law http://wxpr.org/post/supreme-court-strikes-down-key-part-campaign-finance-law Transcript <p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC) Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 17:04:00 +0000 David Greene 16396 at http://wxpr.org Search Planes Fail To Locate Objects Spotted By Satellite http://wxpr.org/post/search-planes-fail-locate-objects-spotted-satellite Transcript <p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Linda Wertheimer.<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And I'm David Greene. Two large objects showed up satellite images bobbing in a remote part of the Indian Ocean.<p>WERTHEIMER: Now the search is on to find those objects and see if they are part of the missing Malaysia Airlines plane. Search planes and boats are covering an area about 1,500 miles southwest of Perth, Australia.<p>GREENE: And NPR's David Schaper joins us on the line now with the latest on the search. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 10:24:00 +0000 David Greene 15852 at http://wxpr.org Twitter Tool Lets Users Revist First Tweets http://wxpr.org/post/twitter-tool-lets-users-revist-first-tweets Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Good morning, I'm David Greene.<p>It is Twitter's 8th birthday. To celebrate, the site has put out a tool that lets you see any user's very first tweet. Some were naturals. Warren Buffett's first tweet, Warren is in the house, has been retweeted more than 40,000 times. Others might cringe at their first contribution. Steve Wozniak, co-founder of Apple, tweeted about his dance lessons: No pain, no gain. Awkward but fun this dancing, I still can't do macarena. That's what he wrote.<p>You're listening to MORNING EDITION. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 09:43:00 +0000 David Greene 15849 at http://wxpr.org Objects Spotted In Indian Ocean Possibly Linked To Missing Jet http://wxpr.org/post/objects-spotted-indian-ocean-possibly-linked-missing-jet Australian officials say they are searching the Indian Ocean southwest of Perth after satellite images found objects that are possibly connected to Malaysia Airlines Flight 370. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 09:06:00 +0000 David Greene 15791 at http://wxpr.org Wait. How Much Is That Doggy? http://wxpr.org/post/wait-how-much-doggy A Chinese property developer has reportedly paid close to $2 million for a golden-haired Tibetan mastiff puppy. The lion-looking dogs have become a status symbol for China's very rich. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 09:06:00 +0000 David Greene 15796 at http://wxpr.org Tattoo Of Handgun Triggers Call To Police http://wxpr.org/post/tattoo-handgun-triggers-call-police Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Good morning, I'm David Greene.<p>Michael Smith, of Norridgewock, Maine, has a really convincing tattoo of a handgun on his lower stomach. This week, he woke up to a crew cutting trees outside. He marched out to tell them to stop with his shirt off. A bit later he woke up again, to a SWAT team with rifles trained. The tree cutters had mistaken his tattoo for a real gun tucked in his belt.<p>Smith told the police, quote, "I got plans today. I don't want to get shot." He was not charged.<p>You're listening to MORNING EDITION. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 09:06:00 +0000 David Greene 15797 at http://wxpr.org Brit Uses Shakespeare To Exact Revenge http://wxpr.org/post/brit-uses-shakespeare-exact-revenge Edd Joseph bought a game console online, but he never received it. So he took revenge by texting 37 full Shakespeare plays to the seller's phone. That's nearly 30,000 messages. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 09:49:00 +0000 David Greene 15747 at http://wxpr.org Primark To Pay $10 Million To Victims Of Bangladesh Factory Collapse http://wxpr.org/post/primark-pay-10-million-victims-bangladesh-factory-collapse British clothing retailer Primark says it will pay $10 million in compensation to the victims of the Rana Plaza factory collapse in Bangladesh last year. The tragedy killed more than 1,100. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 09:24:00 +0000 David Greene 15701 at http://wxpr.org Red Robin Adds New Adult Milkshake To Menu http://wxpr.org/post/red-robin-adds-new-adult-milkshake-menu A new offering from the food chain Red Robin: milkshakes made with wine. The first wine shake on the menu will be the Mango Moscato — made with wine, vodka, mango puree and vanilla ice cream. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 09:24:00 +0000 David Greene 15702 at http://wxpr.org Sen. Durbin Says U.S. Is Ready To Provide Nonlethal Aid To Ukraine http://wxpr.org/post/ukraine-sen-durbin-says-us-ready-provide-nonlethal-aid Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION, from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And I'm David Greene.<p>Just before residents of Crimea voted to break away from Ukraine and join Russia, a group of U.S. senators visited Kiev. They were showing support for Ukraine's new government, and also offering U.S. help. Among them was Illinois Democrat Richard Durbin. We reached him by phone in Chicago, and asked if the U.S. and Europe have to accept that Crimea is now part of Russia.<p>SENATOR RICHARD DURBIN: I don't accept that. I don't think we should. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 08:44:00 +0000 David Greene 15692 at http://wxpr.org