All Things Considered on WXPR http://wxpr.org en A Knuckleball No More: World Cup Soccer Ball Gets A Redesign http://wxpr.org/post/knuckleball-no-more-world-cup-soccer-ball-gets-redesign John Eric Goff, the chair of the physics department at Lynchburg College, explains the science of the 2014 World Cup soccer ball. The Adidas Brazuca is expected to perform better than the version used in South Africa in 2010. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:50:00 +0000 NPR Staff 17315 at http://wxpr.org Album Review: 'Abracaco' http://wxpr.org/post/album-review-abracaco Caetano Veloso has been making music for over 40 years, and he's among the best known singers in his native Brazil. Banning Eyre says that Veloso's new album, <em>Abracaco</em>, is one of the most engaging in his epic career. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:35:00 +0000 editor 17316 at http://wxpr.org Ex-Ranger Recalls The Friendly Fire That Killed Pat Tillman http://wxpr.org/post/ex-ranger-recalls-friendly-fire-killed-pat-tillman Ten years ago Tuesday, former NFL star Pat Tillman was killed by friendly fire in Afghanistan. Steven Elliott was one of the Army Rangers who fired on Tillman, and <a href="http://espn.go.com/espn/feature/story/_/id/10816260/pat-tillman-enduring-guilt">he told his story recently on ESPN's <em>Outside the Lines</em>.</a> <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:16:00 +0000 NPR Staff 17317 at http://wxpr.org High Court Upholds Michigan's Affirmative Action Ban http://wxpr.org/post/high-court-upholds-michigans-affirmative-action-ban The U.S. Supreme Court has upheld a Michigan ban on affirmative action in higher education. The 6-to-2 decision is likely to set the stage for further battles over affirmative action in the political arena, as well as the courts.<p>In 2006, Michigan voters, by a margin of 58 percent to 42 percent, passed a referendum to amend the state Constitution and ban any consideration of race in college and university admissions. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Nina Totenberg 17300 at http://wxpr.org High Court Upholds Michigan's Affirmative Action Ban 'Inside Amy Schumer,' Some Surprising Commentary http://wxpr.org/post/inside-amy-schumer-some-surprising-commentary No one can send up sexism with a punch line quite like Amy Schumer.<p>"A lot of the women's magazines are supposed to, like, be confidence building, but they really just scare ... you so you buy the products in them," she says in one stand-up routine. "Like, they all will put Jessica Alba or somebody like that on the cover. And she's supersexualized no matter what magazine. ... Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Eric Deggans 17309 at http://wxpr.org 'Inside Amy Schumer,' Some Surprising Commentary The Wonders Of The Year 2014, As Told By Isaac Asimov http://wxpr.org/post/wonders-year-2014-told-isaac-asimov Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>A moment now remember how the future looked 50 years ago today.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF DOCUMENTARY, "FUTURAMA")<p>UNIDENTIFIED MAN: Welcome to a journey into the future, a journey for everyone today, into the everywhere of tomorrow.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>On this date in 1964, the New York World's Fair opened. It offered visions of a better future, much of it based on technology. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Audie Cornish 17310 at http://wxpr.org Searching The Planet To Find Power For The Cloud http://wxpr.org/post/searching-planet-find-power-cloud <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_FJ6_kEEKJg</p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 21:30:00 +0000 editor 17264 at http://wxpr.org Searching The Planet To Find Power For The Cloud The Tawdry Ballad Of A Man, A Casino And A Game Of Chance http://wxpr.org/post/tawdry-ballad-man-casino-and-game-chance Millionaire Chinese gamblers, high-class Mongolian escorts, drunken Englishmen — these are the kind of characters who populate Lawrence Osborne's hypnotic new novel, <em>The Ballad of a Small Player</em>. Set in the hotels and casinos of Macau, a former Portuguese colony where ostentatious 21st century glamour meets the faded charms of old Asia, the novel traces the trajectory of a compulsive gambler, the self-styled "Lord" Doyle, a man who seems addicted to failure. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 21:29:00 +0000 Tash Aw 17263 at http://wxpr.org The Tawdry Ballad Of A Man, A Casino And A Game Of Chance To Keep Business Growing, Vendors Rebrand Pot's Stoner Image http://wxpr.org/post/keep-business-growing-vendors-rebrand-pots-stoner-image From the outside, Jan Cole's recreational marijuana store in Boulder, Colo., just feels welcoming. Big glass windows let in natural light, and the walls are painted in soothing earth tones. Cole used her background in spa management to build a "warm and inviting" pot shop that puts customers at ease.<p>In fact, the store's name, The Farm, is so inconspicuous, "we have a lot of people who come in think that we might be an organic food grocer or something," she says.<p>And that's exactly who Cole is trying to attract: the tote-bag carrying, socially conscious, natural-food crowd. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 20:54:00 +0000 editor 17260 at http://wxpr.org To Keep Business Growing, Vendors Rebrand Pot's Stoner Image Robotic Exoskeleton Helps Get Vets Back On Their Feet http://wxpr.org/post/robotic-exoskeleton-helps-get-vets-back-their-feet Several bio-tech companies are developing exoskeletons that give people superhuman abilities. These robotic suits are also doing something simpler: They're helping people who are paralyzed, including many veterans, stand up and walk. As Erin Toner of WUWM reports, the technology helps improve patients' mental and physical health, but it's far from changing their lives entirely. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 Milwaukee Public Radio. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 20:39:00 +0000 editor 17261 at http://wxpr.org