Business & Industry http://wxpr.org en Home Sales Rise For First Time in 2014 http://wxpr.org/post/home-sales-rise-first-time-2014 <p>Home sales were up last month for the first time this year.&nbsp; According to the Wisconsin Realtors Association, over 4 percent more homes sold in Wisconsin in June than in that month last year.</p><p>In the northern part of the state, that increase is a little higher – with sales up more than five percent.&nbsp;</p><p>Housing sales for the year to date are still behind compared to 2013, thanks to five consecutive months of lower sales.</p><p>Economist Dave Clark says it’s a good time to see a turnaround.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 23:21:57 +0000 Natalie Jablonski 21418 at http://wxpr.org Integrys To Auction/Sell Lake Content Property http://wxpr.org/post/integrys-auctionsell-lake-content-property <p>Integrys Energy Group, the holding company which owns Wisconsin Public Service, has decided to sell about 200 acres of its Awassa Lodge property along Lake Content&nbsp; in St. Germain. The land is divided into 23 primarily lakefront lots. Integrys also owns 235 acres not adjacent to the lake. They are negotiating with a single buyer for that land. An auction will be conducted on September 18 at the St. Germain Community Center.</p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 19:59:28 +0000 Ken Krall 21247 at http://wxpr.org WPS Flares Natural Gas in Three Lakes http://wxpr.org/post/wps-flares-natural-gas-three-lakes <p>Wisconsin Public Service is flaring natural gas in Three Lakes this week to prepare for some pipeline maintenance.</p><p>WPS Spokesperson Leah Van Zile says some parts of the pipeline are being refitted to allow for easier maintenance, and the natural gas needs to be cleared out first.&nbsp;</p><blockquote><p>“Basically what we’re doing is we’ve taken the pressure down as low as we possibly can in that section of the pipeline, the remaining gas is purged out of that pipeline, and burned at the one valve in the Three Lakes area.”</p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 17:14:35 +0000 Natalie Jablonski 21071 at http://wxpr.org Enplanements Up At Rhinelander-Oneida Co. Airport http://wxpr.org/post/enplanements-rhinelander-oneida-co-airport <p></p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 22:13:55 +0000 Ken Krall 20873 at http://wxpr.org Enplanements Up At Rhinelander-Oneida Co. Airport Marshfield Clinic Withdraws From Building Dental School http://wxpr.org/post/marshfield-clinic-withdraws-building-dental-school <p></p><p>Marshfield Clinic has scrapped a plan to build Wisconsin's second dental school and will return a ten-million dollar state grant for the project.</p><p><br />The clinic received the funding in 2010 to construct a new training facility in Marshfield for dentists who commit to working in rural areas.</p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 22:07:04 +0000 Ken Krall & Learfield Data-Wheeler News 20869 at http://wxpr.org Marshfield Clinic Withdraws From Building Dental School Millions $$$$ From Country Festival Visitors http://wxpr.org/post/millions-country-festival-visitors <p></p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 18:47:30 +0000 Ken Krall 20801 at http://wxpr.org Millions $$$$ From Country Festival Visitors Bicyclists Show Vilas Co. Businesses Their Green http://wxpr.org/post/bicyclists-show-vilas-co-businesses-their-green <p></p><p>Bicyclists in the Northwoods have an opportunity to show&nbsp; their preferred recreation has an economic impact.</p><p><br />Vilas Bike Bands offer green, silicon wristbands to participants purchased from participating businesses in Vilas county.</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 20:21:32 +0000 Ken Krall 20604 at http://wxpr.org Bicyclists Show Vilas Co. Businesses Their Green Deadline Nearing For First Responder Grants http://wxpr.org/post/deadline-nearing-first-responder-grants <p></p> Sun, 29 Jun 2014 19:30:00 +0000 Ken Krall 20345 at http://wxpr.org Deadline Nearing For First Responder Grants Broadband Can Tap New Revenue: Vacation Homes http://wxpr.org/post/broadband-can-tap-new-revenue-vacation-homes <p></p><p>A University of Wisconsin and Extension study says the economic impact of second homes in Wisconsin is large and is often forgotten as an economic driver. While the study had a component in southern Wisconsin, it also had key results from the Northwoods.</p><p><br />Professor Russ Kashian at UW-Whitewater and Professor Andy Lewis from UW-Extension looked at the impacts of connecting second homes with high speed internet. The lack of such connectivity has been cited as a potential loss of revenue in some parts of the Northwoods.</p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 13:37:22 +0000 Ken Krall 20336 at http://wxpr.org Broadband Can Tap New Revenue: Vacation Homes Emerson Named Eagle River Chamber Leader http://wxpr.org/post/emerson-named-eagle-river-chamber-leader <p>The Eagle River Area Chamber of Commerce and Visitor's Center has a new Executive Director who is a familiar name to area residents.</p><p><br />The Board of Directors has named Kim Emerson as the new director. Emerson joined the Chamber 13 years ago as Events Coordinator.</p><p><br />Emerson says the community is very important to her...<br /><br /><em>"...this is a wonderful community to work with...the businesses in the area, the visitors to the area. Just being who we are is an important part of what we've done in the past and I look forward to doing in the future...."</em></p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 13:28:47 +0000 Ken Krall 20335 at http://wxpr.org