Business http://wxpr.org en New Chamber Director Takes the Reins http://wxpr.org/post/new-chamber-director-takes-reins <p>The new&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Executive Director for the </span>Rhinelander<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Chamber of Commerce had his first day on the job Monday.&nbsp; </span>Rhinelander<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> native Dana </span>DeMet<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> says he’s busy getting up to speed on upcoming events like the </span>Hodag<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Home Show.&nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">He says one of his goals as chamber director is to help make membership a measurable benefit.&nbsp;</span></p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 22:33:39 +0000 Natalie Jablonski 15078 at http://wxpr.org New Chamber Director Takes the Reins Rio Lobo: Small Town Roaster http://wxpr.org/post/rio-lobo-small-town-roaster <p>Artisan coffee is a trend that’s has pretty much swept the nation's cities.&nbsp; It’s no surprise to find local roasters in Milwaukee or Madison.&nbsp; But where you might not expect to find one…is in a garage in the tiny town of Hiles, Wisconsin. &nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Dave Roberts is working on an espresso blend for his company Rio Lobo coffee.&nbsp; But he hasn’t always been a roaster.&nbsp; At the age of 55, he made an unusual career change.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 06 Feb 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Natalie Jablonski 14030 at http://wxpr.org Rio Lobo: Small Town Roaster Walker Touts Business Growth During Vilas County Visit http://wxpr.org/post/walker-touts-business-growth-during-vilas-county-visit <p>Governor Scott Walker says the state’s business climate is improving.&nbsp; He made an appearance at a Vilas County Economic Development meeting Monday at Eagle Waters Resort. &nbsp; &nbsp;</p><p>Speaking to a crowd of business people and local officials, Walker said good things are happening in Wisconsin, and noted 13,000 new businesses have been created since he took office.&nbsp;&nbsp; Walker also talked about his Walleye Initiative, which resonated with Dick Mendham, owner of Sunset Resort near Phelps:</p> Mon, 16 Dec 2013 23:30:08 +0000 Mary Jo Berner 12051 at http://wxpr.org Rhinelander Event Celebrates Logging Heritage http://wxpr.org/post/rhinelander-event-celebrates-logging-heritage <p>A new event promoting northern Wisconsin's logging heritage is coming to Rhinelander next summer.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Ken </span>Krall<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> talked with Chamber of Commerce Director Lara Reed about the Boom Lake Log Jam.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Reed says there will be things to do for the whole family.</span></p><p></p> Sun, 08 Dec 2013 22:00:00 +0000 Ken Krall 11643 at http://wxpr.org Rhinelander Event Celebrates Logging Heritage Black Friday Tide Lifts All Boats http://wxpr.org/post/black-friday-tide-lifts-all-boats <p>Shoppers were out in force today as big box stores featured discounts and sales.&nbsp;&nbsp; It was a good day even for businesses that weren’t offering deals.</p><blockquote><p>“It is noticeably busier, but we do nothing different with our prices.&nbsp; There is definitely more foot traffic on black Friday.”</p> Fri, 29 Nov 2013 20:37:46 +0000 Natalie Jablonski 11336 at http://wxpr.org Black Friday Tide Lifts All Boats Crandon Likely to Net $2.1M in State Loans http://wxpr.org/post/crandon-likely-net-21m-state-loans <p>A state lending agency has given the green light to loan more than two million dollars to the city of Crandon and its schools. &nbsp;</p> Thu, 08 Aug 2013 23:37:47 +0000 Natalie Jablonski 6274 at http://wxpr.org Crandon Likely to Net $2.1M in State Loans Redikulus Dae Draws Crowd http://wxpr.org/post/redikulus-dae-draws-crowd <p>Businesses in downtown Rhinelander put on their best show for an annual street fair Wednesday. &nbsp;</p> Wed, 07 Aug 2013 22:49:36 +0000 Natalie Jablonski 6211 at http://wxpr.org Redikulus Dae Draws Crowd Rhinelander Prepares for Big Shopping "Dae" http://wxpr.org/post/rhinelander-prepares-big-shopping-dae <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Downtown </span>Rhinelander<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> is gearing up for an annual one-day street fair.&nbsp; </span>Redikulus<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> </span>Dae<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> is designed to bring people out to shop downtown.&nbsp; Executive Director for Downtown </span>Rhinelander<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Inc. Maggie Steffen says it’s been a tradition for 55 years.</span></p> Tue, 06 Aug 2013 23:20:39 +0000 Natalie Jablonski 6150 at http://wxpr.org State Grant Funds Road Construction Near Printpack http://wxpr.org/post/state-grant-funds-road-construction-near-printpack <p>State officials stopped in Rhinelander today to present a nearly half-million dollar grant to the city. &nbsp;The money helps pay for road construction outside the new manufacturing facility for Printpack.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Outside the new facility that </span>Printpack<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> is building, </span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Rhinelander</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Mayor Dick Johns accepted the check from the state’s Transportation Economic Assistance program. &nbsp;</span></p> Thu, 25 Jul 2013 20:36:39 +0000 Natalie Jablonski 5599 at http://wxpr.org State Grant Funds Road Construction Near Printpack Country Fest Wields Economic Clout http://wxpr.org/post/country-fest-wields-economic-clout <p>Rhinelander is about to get hit with a wave of country music fans, during the area’s biggest tourism event.&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>The four-day Hodag Country Festival begins Thursday, and tens of thousands of people are expected to attend.&nbsp; Director of the Rhinelander Area Chamber of Commerce Lara Reed says the economic impact on the region is huge.</p> Mon, 08 Jul 2013 20:02:16 +0000 Natalie Jablonski 4734 at http://wxpr.org Country Fest Wields Economic Clout