Rep. Janet Bewley http://wxpr.org en Bewley: No One From Ashland Co. Named To Mining Board http://wxpr.org/post/bewley-no-one-ashland-co-named-mining-board <p>A Northwoods legislator is asking questions about an announcement Friday concerning a board that helps local communities deal with mining.</p> Mon, 05 May 2014 03:41:00 +0000 Ken Krall 17798 at http://wxpr.org Bewley: No One From Ashland Co. Named To Mining Board Northwoods Democrat Says Last Session Wasn't So Rosy http://wxpr.org/post/northwoods-democrat-says-last-session-wasnt-so-rosy <div><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Governor Walker has been stumping the Northwoods recently talking about his Blueprint for Prosperity. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 20:26:37 +0000 Ken Krall 16038 at http://wxpr.org Northwoods Democrat Says Last Session Wasn't So Rosy Deduction For Propane Cost Killed In Legislature http://wxpr.org/post/deduction-propane-cost-killed-legislature <p>A Northwoods legislator is upset the Republican majority in the Assembly ignored an amendment she proposed to help people heating with propane. The amendment asked to send a bit of the budget surplus to provide a direct income tax deduction for every dollar spent in excess of two dollars per gallon of propane.</p><p>Ashland Democrat Janet Bewley says many of the downstate legislators don't have an idea so many people heat with propane..</p><p><i><u> </u></i></p> Fri, 14 Feb 2014 19:56:46 +0000 Ken Krall 14419 at http://wxpr.org Deduction For Propane Cost Killed In Legislature Legislators React To "State of the State" Address http://wxpr.org/post/legislators-react-state-state-address <p>Governor Walker Thursday said he has called a special session of the legislature to work on his Blueprint for Prosperity announced during his "State of the State" address.</p><p>Walker announced that a major portion of a projected $911 million surplus will be returned to property&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; taxpayers and workers.</p> Thu, 23 Jan 2014 21:31:46 +0000 Ken Krall 13476 at http://wxpr.org Legislators React To "State of the State" Address Mining Bill Favors Only One Side: Legislator http://wxpr.org/post/mining-bill-favors-only-one-side-legislator <p>A candidate for a northern Wisconsin state Senate seat says the state needs a new mining law before she would consider backing it.</p><p>Democrat Janet Bewley represents the 74th Assembly District, including Iron, Price and a portion of Vilas county.</p><p>Bewley says mining is not a yes or no kind of question, as it is more complicated. She says the people of the north want to have a strong economy and jobs that intersects with their values...</p><p><i><u> </u></i></p> Thu, 26 Dec 2013 11:46:00 +0000 Ken Krall 12379 at http://wxpr.org Mining Bill Favors Only One Side: Legislator Legislator Says Local Communities Losing Power http://wxpr.org/post/legislator-says-local-communities-losing-power <p>A legislator is concerned about the centralization of control being pushed on local units of government by the Republican-controlled legislature.</p><p>Democratic State Representative Janet Bewley of Ashland&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">says the majority party is showing a tendency to want more power focused in Madison...</span></p><p><i><u> </u></i></p> Sun, 22 Dec 2013 22:47:00 +0000 Ken Krall 12252 at http://wxpr.org Legislator Says Local Communities Losing Power Dems and GOP Differ On Walker Tax Relief Plan http://wxpr.org/post/dems-and-gop-differ-walker-tax-relief-plan <p>Different views of the property tax relief claimed by the Walker administration last week. Governor Walker announced $100 million dollars from surplus revenue would be funneled back to taxpayers. A Northwoods Republican said about $80,000 was coming to all the schools in his district...</p><p>34th Assembly Republican Rob Swearingen...</p><p><i><u> </u></i></p><blockquote><p><i><u>"....the money was injected into the state equalization aid in terms of the school funding formula. It does do what it's supposed to do.Crandon in the (34th) does about the best...</u></i></p> Sun, 20 Oct 2013 19:14:00 +0000 Ken Krall 9496 at http://wxpr.org Dems and GOP Differ On Walker Tax Relief Plan