News http://wxpr.org en WXPR's Antique Appraisal Experience http://wxpr.org/post/wxprs-antique-appraisal-experience <p>Ever wonder what that family heirloom at the cabin is worth? WXPR is pleased to partner with Wisconsin-based antiques expert Mark F. Moran for WXPR’s Summer Pledge Drive.</p><p>You can have an antique, collectible, or piece of fine art evaluated as our thanks for your membership pledge of $120 or more. When you <a href="http://67.199.60.162/pledge.html" target="_blank">pledge online </a>or call the station at 715-362-6000 you’ll receive a pass to WXPR’s Antique Appraisal Experience. &nbsp;</p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 20:02:56 +0000 Peg Arnold 20817 at http://wxpr.org WXPR's Antique Appraisal Experience VC Board Approves Adding ATV Use To Land Use Plan http://wxpr.org/post/vc-board-approves-adding-atv-use-land-use-plan <p>The Vilas county board voted 15-4 last night to amend the county's land use plan to allow motorized trails on county land and roads. The vote is a victory for those seeking to overturn a 2004 referendum vote where a majority wanted no county ATV trails and a subsequent county board resolution banning ATV's on county properties and roads.</p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 04:28:09 +0000 Ken Krall 21480 at http://wxpr.org VC Board Approves Adding ATV Use To Land Use Plan Fast and Slow, Worms Wriggle at Rhinelander Library http://wxpr.org/post/fast-and-slow-worms-wriggle-rhinelander-library <p>The Rhinelander District Library had a day at the races…when more than a hundred kids competed in the 28<sup>th</sup> annual Worm Race.&nbsp; As WXPR’s Natalie Jablonski reports, some worms just move faster than others.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp; &nbsp;</span></p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 23:07:11 +0000 Natalie Jablonski 21477 at http://wxpr.org Fast and Slow, Worms Wriggle at Rhinelander Library Two Hospitalized After Nearly Drowning http://wxpr.org/post/two-hospitalized-after-nearly-drowning <p>A woman and child have been hospitalized after nearly drowning in Star Lake in Vilas County Tuesday.&nbsp;</p><p>Shortly before one o’clock Tuesday, the Vilas County Sheriff’s office received a 911 call reporting two adult women were trying to rescue three children swimming in Star Lake.&nbsp;</p><p>The women apparently rescued two of the children without incident, but when rescuing the third child, one of the women went under the water, along with the child.&nbsp; A family friend arrived on a boat to pull them out of the water.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:04:10 +0000 Natalie Jablonski 21474 at http://wxpr.org Wounded Warriors Come To Northwoods To Aid Kids http://wxpr.org/post/wounded-warriors-come-northwoods-aid-kids <p></p><p>A traveling team of the Wounded Warrior Amputee Softball Team will be playing three games this weekend in Lake Tomahawk and Minocqua.</p><p><br />The team is composed of wounded veterans from the War On Terror, Iraq and Afghanistan whose mission is to raise awareness about service members who are overcoming the loss of limbs and to raise money.</p><p><br />The team will be taking on the local "Snowhawks"&nbsp; in snowshoe baseball Friday night in Lake Tomahawk, then will play a double-header regular softball game Saturday at the Highway 70 complex in Minocqua.</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 20:22:14 +0000 Ken Krall 21454 at http://wxpr.org Wounded Warriors Come To Northwoods To Aid Kids Nicolet College Gets $1.9 Million Fast Forward Grant http://wxpr.org/post/nicolet-college-gets-19-million-fast-forward-grant <p>Nicolet College in Rhinelander has</p><p></p><p>picked up a $1.9 million dollar state grant which will train more than 300 area workers in high-demand technical jobs.</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 19:59:12 +0000 Ken Krall 21453 at http://wxpr.org Nicolet College Gets $1.9 Million Fast Forward Grant Home Sales Rise For First Time in 2014 http://wxpr.org/post/home-sales-rise-first-time-2014 <p>Home sales were up last month for the first time this year.&nbsp; According to the Wisconsin Realtors Association, over 4 percent more homes sold in Wisconsin in June than in that month last year.</p><p>In the northern part of the state, that increase is a little higher – with sales up more than five percent.&nbsp;</p><p>Housing sales for the year to date are still behind compared to 2013, thanks to five consecutive months of lower sales.</p><p>Economist Dave Clark says it’s a good time to see a turnaround.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 23:21:57 +0000 Natalie Jablonski 21418 at http://wxpr.org Nothing Northwoods About It: Northern National Set to Open http://wxpr.org/post/nothing-northwoods-about-it-northern-national-set-open <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Northern National art exhibit opens Tuesday night at </span>Nicolet<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> College.&nbsp; It includes artwork from all over the country…that ranges from oil paintings to quilts.&nbsp;</span></p><p>Natalie Jablonski spoke with judge Linda Benedict-Jones…from the Carnegie Museum of Art in Pittsburgh…about her approach to jurying a large exhibit.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>She selected the works in the show, whittling down more than 500 submissions to about 90.</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 23:18:24 +0000 Natalie Jablonski 21417 at http://wxpr.org Nothing Northwoods About It: Northern National Set to Open Motorcycle Crash Injures One In Woodboro http://wxpr.org/post/motorcycle-crash-injures-one-woodboro <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A motorcyclist injured in a crash in Oneida County has been identified as 33-year-old Jed M. Travis of Weston.&nbsp;</span></p><p>He was injured in a single-vehicle accident Saturday evening in the town of Woodboro.</p><p>Around 5:30 pm, the Oneida County Sheriff’s office received several 911 calls of a motorcycle accident on Highway 8 near Birch Bay Road.</p><p>Travis was the only person involved in the accident.&nbsp; He was airlifted to St. Joseph’s Hospital in Marshfield.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 23:08:37 +0000 Natalie Jablonski 21416 at http://wxpr.org WXPR Blues Cruise- August, 23 http://wxpr.org/post/wxpr-blues-cruise-august-23 <p></p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 16:19:18 +0000 Jessie Dick 21389 at http://wxpr.org WXPR Blues Cruise- August, 23 Second Half Property Taxes Due http://wxpr.org/post/second-half-property-taxes-due <p></p><p>Property taxpayers are asked to note the second installment payment is due&nbsp; on July 31.</p><p><br />Oneida County Treasurer Kris Osterman says missing this deadline will result in interest being charged...</p> Sun, 20 Jul 2014 22:17:00 +0000 Ken Krall 21314 at http://wxpr.org Second Half Property Taxes Due